GEMAS PROJECT GEMAS
GEOCHEMICAL MAPPING OF AGRICULTURAL AND GRAZING LAND SOIL
GEMAS PROJECT

Homehome PublicationsPublications Downloadsdownloads Photosphotos Mapsmaps Links links The Groupgroup Contactscontact







GEMAS Project Team

GEMAS Project Management:

Clemens Reimann, Geological Survey of Norway, Chairman EuroGeoSurveys Geochemistry Expert Group
E-mail: clemens.reimann@ngu.no

Manfred Birke, Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources, Germany
E-mail: manfred.birke@bgr.de

Alecos Demetriades, Institute of Geology and Mineral Exploration (IGME), Hellas
E-mail: alecos.demetriades@gmail.com

Ilse Schoeters, Rio Tinto, UK
E-mail: ilse.schoeters@riotinto.com

and the following country teams:

AUSTRIA
Geological Survey of Austria
Neulinggasse 38,
A 1030 Vienna, Austria

Edith Haslinger* - Coordinator, sampling, interpretation
Albert Schedl - Interpretation of Austrian results
Heinz Reitner - GIS processing of sampling sites
Sebastian Pfleiderer - Elaboration of GEMAS photo database
Leopold Pöppel - Sampling
E-mail: Albert.Schedl@geologie.ac.at; Sebastian.Pfleiderer@geologie.ac.at
*Presently at AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH Konrad-Lorenz-Strasse 24, 3430 Tulln, Austria
E-mail: edith.haslinger@ait.ac.at


Vienna University of Technology
Department of Statistics and Probability Theory,
Wiedner Hauptstrasse 8-10,
A-1040 Vienna, Austria

Peter Filzmoser - Statistical processing
E-mail: P.Filzmoser@tuwien.ac.at


BELGIUM
Geological Survey of Belgium
13, Rue Jenner,
1000 Brussels, Belgium

Walter De Vos - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
E-mail: wdevos@naturalsciences.be


BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA
Geological Survey of Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina
71210 Ilidza, Ustanicka 11,
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Hazim Hrvatovic - Coordinator, sampling, interpretation
Ferid Skopljak, Nihad Jaganjac and Natalija Samardzic - Sampling
E-mail: hharish@bih.net.ba; zgeolbih@bih.net.ba


BULGARIA
Department of Geology and Permits for Exploration
Subsurface and Underground Resources Office,
Ministry of Environment and Water,
22 Maria Louisa Blvd.,
1000 Sofia, Bulgaria

Valeri Trendafilov - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Vassil Belougushev - Sampling
E-mail: v.trendafilov@mee.government.bg


CROATIA
Croatian Geological Survey
Sachsova 2,
10000 Zagreb, Croatia

Josip Halamic - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Ajka Šorša - Sampling and interpretation
E-mail: josip.halamic@hgi-cgs.hr; ajka.sorsa@hgi-cgs.hr

University of Zagreb
The Faculty of Agriculture,
Svetošimunska 25,
10000 Zagreb, Croatia

Stjepan Husnjak - Sampling and pedological interpretation
E-mail: shusnjak@agr.hr


CYPRUS
Cyprus Geological Survey
1415 Lefkosia, Cyprus

Alecos Demetriades - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Zomenia Zomeni - Sampling
E-mail: alecos.demetriades@gmail.com; zzomeni@gsd.moa.gov.cy


CZECH REPUBLIC
Czech Geological Survey
Klárov 3,
118 21 Praha 1, Czech Republic

Miloslav Duriš - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Michal Ponavic - Sampling and interpretation
Jan Holák - Sampling
E-mail: michal.ponavic@geology.cz


DENMARK
Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland
Řster Voldgade 10,
1350 Copenhagen K, Denmark

Vibeke Ernstsen - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Lasse Gudmundsson - Sampling
E-mail: ve@geus.dk


ESTONIA
Geological Survey of Estonia
Kadaka tee 82,
Tallinn, 12618, Estonia

Valter Petersell - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Jaan Kivisilla - Sampling (passed away in January 2012)
E-mail: v.petersell@egk.ee


FINLAND
Geological Survey of Finland
P.O.Box 96,
FI-02151 Espoo, Finland

Timo Tarvainen - Coordinator and interpretation
Mikael Eklund - Sampling and interpretation
Jaana Jarva - Sampling
Pasi Eilu - Interpretation
E-mail: timo.tarvainen@gtk.fi


FRANCE
BRGM, Mineral Resources Division
BRGM 3,
Avenue Claude Gullemin,
B.P. 6009 Orléans Cedex 2,
45060 France

Ignace Salpeteur - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Jean Pierre Jegou, Marie Branellec, Anne Sophie Audion, Stéphanie Guignat, Gérard Longin and Eric Palvadeau - Sampling
Philippe Negrel - Interpretation
Jeremie Melleton - Database
Hubert Haas - Sample processing
E-mail: p.negrel@brgm.fr; j.melleton@brgm.fr


F.Y.R.O.M.
SS. Cyril and Methodius University
Institute of Chemistry, Faculty of Science,
Arhimedova 5,
Skopje,
Former Yugoslavian Republic of Macedonia

Trajce Stafilov - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
E-mail: trajcest@pmf.ukim.mk; trajcest@iunona.pmf.ukim.edu.mk


GERMANY
Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources
Stilleweg 2,
30655 Hannover, Germany

Manfred Birke - Coordinator, multielement analysis, geochemical maps, base maps and interpretation
Rainer Hoffmann, Friedrich Krone, Beate Keilert and Michael Fuchs - Sampling
Frank Korte, Bodo Harazim, Detlev Requard, Daniela Schwenger, Heiko Oltmanns, Levke Godbersen, Elke Wargenau and Christiane Kamphuis - Multielement Analysis
Reiner Dohrmann, Irene Bitz and Angelika Goldmann - Mineralogical analysis
Cornelia Kriete - International Proficiency Test
Uwe Rauch - Geochemical maps, Base maps, interpretation
Fabian Jähne and Rainer Baritz - Interpretation
E-mail: manfred.birke@bgr.de


HELLAS
Institute of Geology and Mineral Exploration
1 Spirou Louis Street,
Acharnae,
GR-136 77 Athens, Hellas

Alecos Demetriades - Coordinator, sampling, mineral deposit maps, interpretation
Dimitris Machaeras - Sampling
Maria Kaminari - Interpretation
E-mail: alecos.demetriades@gmail.com; mkaminari@igme.gr


HUNGARY
Geological and Geophysical Institute of Hungary
Környezetföldtani Osztály,
Stefánia út 14,
1143 Budapest, Hungary

Gyozo Jordan* - Coordinator and sampling
Ubul Fügedi - Sampling and interpretation
Laszlo Kuti - Interpretation
E-mail: fugedi.ubul@mfgi.hu
* Presently at Institute for Geological and Geochemical Research, Research Centre for Astronomy and Earth Sciences, Hungarian Academy of Sciences,
Herman Ottó út 15,
Budapest H-1022, Hungary
E-mail: gyozojordan@gmail.com



IRELAND
Geological Survey of Ireland
Beggars Bush,
Haddington Road,
Dublin 4, Ireland

Patrick O'Connor - Coordinator and interpretation
Vincent Gallagher and Fionnuala Ni Mairtin - Sampling
Ray Scanlon - Interpretation
E-mail: ray.scanlon@gsi.ie; pjoconnor30@gmail.com


ITALY
University of Napoli Federico II
Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra,
dell'Ambiente e delle Risorse,
Via Mezzocannone, 8,
Napoli, Italy

Benedetto De Vivo - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Stefano Albanese and Annamaria Lima - Sampling and interpretation
E-mail: bdevivo@unina.it

University of Sannio
Department of Biological, Geological and Environmental Sciences
Via dei Mulini 59/A,
82100 Benevento, Italy

Domenico Cicchella - Sampling and interpretation
E-mail: cidom@unisannio.it

University of Bologna
Department of Biological, Geological and Environmental Sciences,
Geology section,
Piazza di Porta San Donato 1,
40126 Bologna, Italy

Enrico Dinelli - Sampling and interpretation
E-mail: enrico.dinelli@unibo.it

University of Cagliari
Department of Civil-Environmental Engineering and Architecture
Via Marengo 3,
09123 Cagliari, Italy

Paolo Valera - Sampling and interpretation
E-mail: pvalera@unica.it


LATVIA
Latvian Environment, Geology and Meteorology Centre
Maskavas Street 165,
Riga, LV-1019, Latvia

Aivars Gilucis* - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
E-mail: aivars.gilucis@apollo.lv
*Presently at Geoplus SIA


LITHUANIA
Lithuanian Geological Survey
Konarskio 35,
Vilnius, LT-03123, Lithuania

Virgilija Gregorauskiene - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Petras Putys and Augustinas Jankauskas - Sampling
E-mail: Virgilija.Gregorauskiene@lgt.lt


LUXEMBOURG
Service Géologique du Luxembourg
B.P. 17, L-8005 Bertrange, Luxembourg

Robert Maquil - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
E-mail: robert.maquil@pch.etat.lu


MONTENEGRO
Geological Survey of Montenegro
Cetinjski put bb,
81000 Podgorica, Montenegro

Ranko Svrkota and Slobodan Radusinovic - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
E-mail: geozavod@t-com.me; ranino@t-com.me; radusinovic.s@geozavod.co.me


NETHERLANDS, THE
Alterra
Soil Science Centre,
PO Box 47, 6700 AA Wageningen,
Droevendaalsesteeg 4,
Wageningen, The Netherlands

Gerben Mol - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Willy de Groot - Sampling
E-mail: gerben.mol@wur.nl


NORWAY
Geological Survey of Norway
P.O.Box 6315 Sluppen,
NO-7491 Trondheim, Norway

Clemens Reimann - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Ola A. Eggen, Morten Jartun, Henning Jensen, Henning Tiarks, Tore Volden - Sampling
Rolf Tore Ottesen - Interpretation
Clea Fabian - pH measurements
Karl Fabian - Magnetic susceptibility, measurements and interpretation
Belinda Flem - Lead isotope ratio analyses
Anne Nordtřmme - Total C and S (LECO) determinations
E-mail: Clemens.Reimann@ngu.no

Norwegian Forest and Landscape Institute
P.O.Box 115,
1431 Ĺs, Norway

Arnold H. Arnoldussen - Sampling and interpretation
Eivind Solbakken, Ragnhild Sperstad - Sampling
E-mail: aha@skogoglandskap.no


POLAND
Polish Geological Institute
Geological Survey of Poland
ul. Rakowiecka 4,
00-975 Warsaw, Poland

Anna Pasieczna, Aleksandra Dusza-Dobek and Pawel Kwecko - Coordinators and interpretation
Aleksandra Dusza-Dobek, Przemyslaw Dobek, Joanna Szyborska-Kaszycka, Piotr Kaszycki, Pawel Kwecko and Tomasz Gliwicz - Sampling
E-mail: anna.pasieczna@pgi.gov.pl; adus@pgi.gov.pl; pawel.kwecko@pgi.gov.pl


PORTUGAL
Laboratório Nacional de Energia e Geologia, I. P. (ex-INETI)
Estrada da Portela,
Bairro do Zambujal,
Apartado 7586- Alfragide,
2610-999 Amadora, Portugal

Maria Joao Batista - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Cátia Prazeres - Sampling
E-mail: joao.batista@ineti.pt


SERBIA
Geological Survey of Serbia
Rovinjska 12,
11000 Belgrade, Serbia

Aleksandra Gulan - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Milun Jovanovic and Božidar Đokic - Sampling
Dušan Nikolic and Jovan Kovacevic.- Consultation
E-mail: aleksandra.gulan@yahoo.com

Serbian Environmental protection Agency
Ruze Jovanovica 27a,
11000 Belgrade, Serbia

Dragana Vidojevic - Supervisor
E-mail: dragana.vidojevic@sepa.gov.rs


SLOVAKIA
State Geological Institute of Dionyz Stur
Mlynská dolina 1,
817 04 Bratislava, Slovakia

Igor Slaninka - Coordinator
Peter Šefcík and Silvester Pramuka - Sampling
E-mail: igor.slaninka@geology.sk

Geoanalytical Laboratories
State Geological Institute of Dionyz Stur
Regional Centre,
Markusovska cesta 1,
052 01 Spiska Nova Ves, Slovakia

Daniela Mackovych - Manager of analyses project samples
Pavol Lucivjansky - Preparation of project standards
E-mail: daniela.mackovych@geology.sk; pavol.lucivjansky@geology.sk


SLOVENIA
Geological Survey of Slovenia
Dimiceva 14,
SI-1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia

Mateja Gosar - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
E-mail: mateja.gosar@geo-zs.si


SPAIN
Geological Survey of Spain
Ríos Rosas, 23,
28003-Madrid, Spain

Juan Locutura - Coordinator, sampling and interpretation
Alejandro Bel-lan - Sampling and interpretation
María González, Marta Domínguez, Angel García Cortés, J. Mariano Martínez, Marta Campesino and Miguel Chamorro - Sampling
E-mail: a.bel-lan@igme.es; j.locutura@igme.es


SWEDEN
Geological Survey of Sweden
Box 670,
751 28 Uppsala, Sweden

Madelen Andersson - Coordinator, sampling, interpretation
Anna Ladenberger - GIS processing of data, interpretation
Martiya Sadeghi - Statistics, GIS processing of data, interpretation
Jo Uhlbäck - Statistics, interpretation of data from Scandinavia
George Morris - Interpretation of data from Scandinavia
Erland Sellersjö - Sampling
E-mail: Madelen.Andersson@sgu.se; Anna.Ladenberger@sgu.se; Martiya.Sadeghi@sgu.se; Jo.Uhlbäck@sgu.se; George.Morris@sgu.se


SWITZERLAND
Federal Office of Topography, Swiss Geological Survey
Seftigenstrasse 264
P.O. Box 3084 Wabern, Switzerland

Peter Hayoz - Coordinator and interpretation
E-mail: peter.hayoz@swisstopo.ch

Agroscope Reckenholz-Tänikon Research Station ART
Research Station Agroscope Reckenholz-Tänikon ART

Reckenholzstrasse 191
8046 Zürich, Switzerland

Reto Giulio Meuli, Peter Schwab and Daniel Zizek - Sampling
E-mail: reto.meuli@art.admin.ch


UKRAINE
State Geological and Subsurface Survey of Ukraine
16, Ejen Pottier Str.,
03680 Kyiv, Ukraine

Volodymyr Klos - Coordinator and interpretation
Yevgen Artamonov and Oleksiy Maksymenko - Sampling
Mykhailo Geichenko, Borys Malyuk, Grygorii Akinfiev and Yulia Amashukeli - Interpretation
E-mail: ukrgeohim@mail.ru; ukrgeohim@mail.ru


UNITED KINGDOM
British Geological Survey
Nickerhill, Keyworth, Nottingham NG12 5GG, United Kingdom

Dee Flight - Coordinator and interpretation
Andreas Scheib* - Sampling and interpretation
Mick Strutt and Paul McDonnell - Sampling
Kevin Barker - Storage and archive of GEMAS samples
E-mail: dmaf@bgs.ac.uk
*Presently at the Geological Survey of Western Australia
Mineral House, 100 Plain Street, East Perth, Western Australia, 6004




INTERNATIONAL
ARCHE Consulting
Stapelplein 70, box 104
9000 Gent, Belgium

Koen Oorts - Risk assessment and particle-size analysis
E-mail: koen.oorts@arche-consulting.be

CSIRO Land and Water
Private Mail Bag No.2,
Glen Osmond, SA 5064, Australia

CSIRO Land and Water, Adelaide, Australia
Mike McLaughlin - Project Manager, Kd maps
Jason Kirby - Project Coordinator, Kd maps
Sean Forrester - Infrared Spectroscopist, Kd maps
Les Janik - Infrared Spectroscopist, Kd maps
Jose Martin Soriano-Disla -Infrared Spectroscopist, Kd maps
Cathy Fiebiger - Kd measurements - Analyses and interpretation
E-mail: Mike.McLaughlin@csiro.au

SGS Minerals Services
1885 Leslie Street, Toronto
Ontario, M3B 2M3, Canada

Pierrette Prince - Global Manager of On-site Laboratories
Nick Turner - ICPMS & Technical Manager
E-mail: pierrette.prince@sgs.com; Nicholas.Turner@sgs.com

Alan Mann - Geochemistry Consultant to SGS - Analyses and interpretation
PO Box 778, South Fremantle, Western Australia 6162
E-mail: awmann@iinet.net.au

University of Otago
Department of Chemistry, Forensic Chemistry,
Clocktower Building,
364 Leith Walk, Dunedin, 9016, New Zealand

Jurian Hoogewerff* - Sr isotopes
E-mail: Jurian.Hoogewerff@otago.ac.nz
*Previously at East Anglia University, UK



LIST OF EUROMETAUX INDUSTRY SPONSORS


Eurometaux
Avenue de Broqueville 12,
1150 Brussels, Belgium

Violaine Verougstraete - Coordination of the metals consortia and their funding contributions to the GEMAS project
Director EHS Eurometaux,
E-mail: verougstraete@eurometaux.be

European Borates Association
Twee Kerkenstraat 26 bte 2,
1000 Brussels, Belgium

European Copper Institute
Tervurenlaan 168 bte 10,
1150 Brussels, Belgium

European Precious Metals Federation (EPMF)
Avenue de Broqueville 12,
1150 Brussels, Belgium

The Cobalt Development Institute
167 High Street, Guildford,
Surrey, GU1 3AJ, United Kingdom

International Antimony Association (i2a)
Avenue de Broqueville 12,
1150 Brussels, Belgium

International Lead Association
Bravington House, Regent Quarter,
2 Bravingtons Walk, London N1 9AF, United Kingdom

International Manganese Institute
17 rue Duphot,
75001 Paris, France

International Molybdenum Association
4, Heathfield Terrace,
Chiswick,
London W4 4JE, United Kingdom

International Zinc Association
Tervurenlaan 168 bte 4,
1150 Brussels, Belgium

Rio Tinto - Copper
2 Eastborne Terrace,
London W2 6LG, United Kingdom

Ilse Schoeters - Coordination of Industry activities and input into the GEMAS project
Manager - Global Product Safety and Stewardship, Copper
E-mail: Ilse.Schoeters@riotinto.com

The Nickel Institute
Avenue des Arts/Kunstlaan, 13
B-1210 Brussels, Belgium

The (REACH) Selenium and Tellurium Consortium
UMCO Umwelt Consult GmbH,
Georg-Wilhelm-Strasse 183b,
D-21107 Hamburg, Germany

The (REACH) Vanadium Consortium
Auer von Welsbach Strasse 1,
A-9330 Althofen, Austria


LABORATORIES INVOLVED IN THE ANALYSES OF GEMAS SAMPLES


BGR, Germany: XRF and LOI
NGU, Norway: pH, Ctot, Stot, Pb-isotopes, Magnetic susceptibility
SGS, Toronto, Canada: MMI® extraction, 56 elements


Contract laboratories


CSIRO Land and Water, Australia: MIR®, Kd-values (special research contract with Eurometaux)




Webmaster